Katarzyna Taborowska

Katarzyna Taborowska – born in Krakow, composer and violinist. She graduated from the State Secondary Music School in the violin class of prof. Zbigniew Szlezer. In the years 1993–1995 she studied composition with prof. Bogusław Schaeffer. In 2001 she graduated from the Academy of Music in Poznań, from the class of composition studies of prof. dr hab. Lidia Zielińska. 

In 2011-2013 she was a student of Postgraduate Studies in Film Music, Theater and Audiovisual Work at the Academy of Music in Łódź and doctoral studies at the Academy of Music in Kraków, where in 2015 at the Faculty of Music, Interpretation and Education In Music, she received a doctorate in musical arts. 

She took part in the 6th International Workshop of Contemporary Music Krakow / Stuttgart (1998), as a scholarship holder of the Muzyka Centrum Association in the “Acanthes” workshops conducted by the Paris IRCAM in Krakow (2000), in the International Multimedia Workshops in Skoki (2000) and in the Polish-German composers’ workshop “4 and 4 more” in Genshagen (2011). Since 2008, she has been a member of the Polish Composers’ Union, and since 2005 also of the Polish Association of Electroacoustic Music (PseME). Her pieces have been performed at many contemporary music festivals, incl. at the “Poznań Music Spring” International Festival of Contemporary Music (1998, 2000, 2012, 2013, 2015, 2018), the “Warsaw Autumn” International Festival of Contemporary Music (2002, 2003, 2005), Musica Polonica Nova in Wrocław (2000), The International Biennale of Art for Children in Poznań (2003, 2005), The International Festival of Electronic and Computer Music “Acousmania” in Bucharest (Romania 2004, 2007), Interactions – Young Art in Poznań (2004), the International Festival “Audio Art” in Krakow (2005, 2006, 2014), Festival Forfest Czech Republic in Kroměříž (Czech Republic 2005 and 2018), 15th Festival de Musica Contempo- ranea Chilena in Santiago de Chile (Chile 2005), Festival de Musica Contemporanea ” Musicahora “in La Serena (Chile, 2005), 37. Synthese in Bourges (France 2007), Tercer Festival Internacional de Musica y Nuevas Technologias” Visiones sonoras “(Mexico 2007), Festival Internacional Acusmatico y Multimedial” Sonoimagenes “in Buenos Aires ( Argentina 2010), International Festival of Women’s Creativity “No Woman No Art” in Poznań (2011), as well as broadcast by radio stations: Program 2 of Polish Radio, Radio Merkury Poznań, Radio Beethoven (Chile), Radio Monalisa (Netherlands). She made her debut at the “Warsaw Autumn” Festival in 2002. The piece Dysotiation for accordion solo, commissioned by the Friends of Warsaw Autumn Foundation with the financial support of Die Ernst von Siemens Musikstiftung, was performed by Boris Lenko. At the concerts of the Youth Circle, an event accompanying the “Warsaw Autumn” Festival, EQ SOUND for flute, quartet, violin and cello (in 2003) and U00 for tape (in 2005) were performed. In 2005, in the Experimental Studio of the Polish Radio, as part of the project “Rej 2005”, the composer staged the piece A Toć była cała sprawa for violin and tape. The premiere of the piece took place on March 28, 2006 in Polish Radio 2, and the violin was performed by Anna Zielińska. The composer’s focus is on electroacoustic and electronic music, searching for new sounds, expanding the possibilities of acoustic instruments with electronics, as well as improvised music, live electronics and various types of combinations of music with video. 

In the years 2009-2013, the composer worked on the hypermedia symphonic piece Rhizome, the multi-threaded and heterogeneous structure of hypertext, inspired by e-literature, and the figure of the rhizome. The piece can be explored at rhizome.pl

Since 2011, Katarzyna Taborowska has been a teacher at the Academy of Music. I. J. Paderewski in Poznań, where she lectures electro-acoustic composition class and others.


21 minutes of music for organ (1993) 

Microsonatina for flute solo (1994) 

String Quartet No. 1 (1994) 

Ave Maria for choir and seven instruments (1997) 

String Quartet No. 2 (1998) 

Suite for string orchestra (1998) 

Recuerda for symphony orchestra (2000) 

Ping Violin Tape Pong for violin and tape (2000) 

U 00 for tape (2001) 

Scheshem, instrumental theatre for instrumental ensemble, four actors, tape and video projections (2001) 

Dissociations for accordion solo * (2002) 

EQ SOUND for flute, clarinet, violin and cello (2002) 

Digi Cello 1 for cello and tape (2003) 

String Quartet No. 3 (2004) 

Atmo 01 for violin and tape (2004) 

Elektroberek for violin and tape (2004) 

Through the window for chamber ensemble and tape (2004) 

A toć była cała sprawa for violin and tape (2005) 

Romanza di Ratto for tape (2008) 

Three Nocturnal Stories for voice and electronics (2009) 

Wa Wa Wee You for tenor and cello (2011) 

Emfaza for violin and symphony orchestra (2012) 

Relay for three percussionists (2012) 

2Pr for chamber ensemble and video projections (2013) 

Doser for symphony orchestra (2014) 

Rhizome hypermedia symphonic piece (2014) 

„Abstrakt” for 4 violas (2015)

Grey Butterflies for two violins (2012 /2017)

Synchron for two harps (2017)

Parafraza for viola, double bass (2017)

Arpeggio for violin 4G and clarinet (2017)

Artificial Cathedral fixed electronics (2017)

Fucktura for ensemble (2018)

Scretch for chamber orchestra, piano, harp and synthesiser (2018)

Independent Horizons for ensemble (2018)

Paralela for tenor saxophone and pipe organ (2018)

Epifilum and warm wind – live electronics (2018)

Chorea for symphony orchestra (2019)

Inner Galaxy beach for chamber orchestra and electronics (2019)

Unisolo for violin and cello (2004 / 2020)

Mural on sunny wall for violin and live electronics (2020)

Feathery clouds for double bass, violin and string quintet (2020)

This website uses cookies

more information